Order By Phone: 1-800-645-1899
Enter keyword or Item #

McAfee Secure sites help keep you safe from identity theft, credit card fraud, spyware, spam, viruses and online scams

Brands
Products A-Z
Departments
Vitamins & Supplements
Herbal Supplements
Children's Supplements
Personal Care
Natural Grocery
Herbal Teas/Throat Drops
Buy 1 Get 1 Free
Resource Center
Nutritionist
Vita Blog
RSS Feed
Reference Library
Contact Us
About Us


Follow us on

Join our mailing list for exciting new products and promotions.

Please enter your Email address.






Website Content Protection
Ask The Nutritionist


<< Go back to Questions & Answers




What is gluten?
   
There’s a common misconception that gluten is wheat. In reality, a food that is gluten-free is not necessarily wheat-free and vice versa. Gluten is actually a combination of proteins that are found in certain cereals, especially in wheat. If it is medically essential that you follow a gluten-free diet – for example, if you suffer from celiac disease or dermatitis herpetiformis – then you must make sure that the food you eat is entirely gluten-free, not merely wheat-free. Gliadin, a simple protein derived from rye or wheat gluten, is the component directly responsible for celiac disease, a disease that damages the gut. Why gluten harms the gut is still not medically determined, despite years of research and study. The most probable theory is that the disease is a result of an abnormal immunologic response, not an enzyme deficiency, as has been previously believed. A gluten-free diet entirely excludes all food composed of or containing wheat, rye, barley and oats. Oats is questionable and some doctors permit their patients to eat foods that contain oats. The Celiac Society, however, does not support the inclusion of oats. (If you suffer from celiac disease, ask your doctor whether oats is advisable in your particular case.) A point to take note of: Gluten-free flours are often low in protein, since gluten itself is a protein. If you’re following a gluten-free diet, make sure to consume adequate protein in other forms, e.g. nuts, seed, milk and eggs. If you’re a vegetarian who has been diagnosed with celiac disease, a gluten-free diet is possible. There are no known medical or nutritional reasons why you cannot be a vegan celiac, but it does make the dietary aspects more complicated. If you’re committed to both, though, you can do well. For vegan celiacs, it is even more imperative to ensure adequate protein, as many sources of protein are eliminated because they are incompatible with vegetarianism. Nuts, seed and soy are all good options. It is advisable to speak with a qualified dietician or nutritionist if you want to follow a vegetarian/gluten-free diet.
 


The following books are some excellent references for questions and idea.


   
   
   
   



your cart is currently empty



Official PayPal Seal Solgar Approved Etailer BizRate Customer Certified (GOLD) Site

Please note that KosherVitamins.com does not process orders from Friday evening to Saturday evening.

The products and the claims made about specific products on or through this site have not been evaluated by KosherVitamins.com or the United States Food and Drug Administration and are not approved to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent disease. The information provided on this site is for informational purposes only and is not intended as a substitute for advice from your physician or other health care professional or any information contained on or in any product label or packaging. You should not use the information on this site for diagnosis or treatment of any health problem or for prescription of any medication or other treatment. You should consult with a healthcare professional before starting any diet, exercise or supplementation program, before taking any medication, or if you have or suspect you might have a health problem.
© 1999-2014 Kosher Vitamins Express. All Rights Reserved.
Report a bug on KosherVitamins.com